Village of Dunsford, Devon

Edit Page

Parish Council

Would you like to be considered to join the Dunsford Parish Council?


NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN, pursuant to Section 87(2) of the Local Government Act 1972, that a vacancy exists in the office of Councillor for the Parish of Dunsford, and that unless ten or more electors of the electoral area have, on or before the 13th April 2018, submitted a request in writing to the Proper Officer, Forde House Brunel Road, Newton Abbot TQ12 4XX that an election be held to fill the vacancy, the Parish Council will take steps to fill the said vacancy by co-option.

Signed   Lynne Ogden (Clerk to the Council)        Date: 22/03/2018

1. Parish clerk contact details

The Parish Council are pleased to announce that from January 2018 Lynne Ogden has become the Parish Clerk.  Lynne can be contacted via email at


2. Review of formal documents

The Parish Council are currently reviewing their Standing Orders and associated documents.  The following documents are under review and, when signed off, shall be made publicly available on this website:

Document Download link Version Date last updated
Code of Conduct      
Standing Orders      
Financial Regulations      
Publication Scheme, including Freedom of Information Act procedures
Asset Register      
Insurance Policy      
Transparency Code Requirements      
Disciplinary Procedures      
Expenses Policy      
Complaint Procedures      
Media Policy      
Grievance Policy      
Health and Safety Policy      

Data Protection and Records Management Policy


Grant and Donation Policy

Risk Assessment Policy      
Equal Opportunities Policy      

3. Council Structure

The Parish Council is made up of 9 Councillors, of whom the first eight listed below were voted in by the Electorate of the Parish of Dunsford in 2015:

Councillor John Saunders (Chairman)

Councillor Paul French (Vice Chairman)

Councillor Graham Dicker

Councillor Pip Hayes

Councillor Katie MacEacharn

Councillor Karen Morris

Councillor Ron Peake

Councillor Hannah Phipps

Councillor Charlie Radclyffe

The Councillors are elected for a 4 year term and the Chairman and Vice-Chairman are elected each May for a one year term.  The current Chairman and Vice-Chairman were in those positions for the years of 2015/16 and 2016/17.

Sadly, Jeremy Lucas, who was the parish clerk from 2013-2017, died in October 2017.  The Parish Council would like to say a huge thank to you to Jeremy for all of the hard work that he did for the village.  The Parish Council advertised for a new parish clerk from October to November, interviewed potential candidates in early December 2017 and Lynne Ogden agreed to become parish clerk from January 2018.

Charlie Radclyffe was co-opted onto the Parish Council in June 2017, following the resignation of Councillor Adam Greenman.  The Parish Council are grateful for the service of Adam Greenman over his years of being a Councillor.

The current number of voters on the Dunsford electoral roll is approx. 585.

All Councillors serve on a voluntary basis and attend the Parish Council meeting on the first Tuesday each month at 7:45 pm in the Village Hall Dressing Room. The meeting is open to the general public who have an opportunity to speak at the beginning or end of the meeting. Councillors also attend other meetings on behalf of the Council if it is thought to be relevant to Dunsford.

Notice of Meetings, including the Agenda, is posted in the Parish Council notice board adjacent to St Mary's Church. A copy of the minutes of each monthly meeting is posted at the following locations: St Mary's Church porch, the Village Post Office, Moor Park Garage, The Royal Oak Public House and this website.